Small town EMS

It’s been a while since I last posted on here.  We have been mondo busy lately!  There has been an increase in transfers as of late.  Speaking of, how do you as an EMS provider deal with your job?  Especially when it becomes one that you aren’t sure you love anymore? 

 

Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and the people I work with.  I have a very unique situation in which both the call volume and types of calls I experience has helped me grow as an EMT and paramedic.  However, there are times when I feel trapped at my current job.  There isn’t much room for advancement, and the requirements (mostly unspoken ones) have become semi-constraining.  I am very blessed to have a fiance that understands my job seeing as he has basically the same one, but it still bothers me with how much I am “at work.” 

 

At my present job I am scheduled 10 shifts every two weeks, each shift 12 hours.  Sometimes that means working anywhere from a 12 hour shift to a 72 hour shift.  It all depends on our part time paramedic’s schedule.  I am always in the office Monday through Friday from 8-5 whether I am on call or not, because there are day to day things to be done.  Our service also goes out and speaks to local community groups, as well as teaches CPR to community members and other services.  My shifts can be during the day or at night as well.  Due to the amount of business that we have experienced over the last couple of years, our number of second unit calls have increased as well.  Which equals me doing calls when I’m not on call.  Please keep in mind this isn’t me “bitching,” it’s simply a representation of my job requirements.

 

I am curious as to how other people’s shifts work.  Being that we have increased in call volume and my job requirements have since increased, especially when I am not on call, I have lost a big chunk of my “down time.”  Which has honestly been eating at me.  While I am not sure that there is any real feasible solution to our current situation, What does an EMS provider do when they feel the burn out approaching?  Obviously this is a career that I have chosen and love dearly, and I don’t want it to become one that I hate and no longer do.  I am looking for thoughts and experiences from those that have gone down this road.

 

Once again, safe and warm thoughts during this holiday season!

Heather

Leave a Reply

