The somewhat pudgy paramedic.

So many of us in this line of work tend to surrender themselves to the world of fast food and bad choices when it becomes to our health.  I have always struggled with my health and weight.  When I was in high school, my weight was very high.  In college I gained the freshman 25, and the weight ever seemed to come off.  Eventually I got fed up and started swimming for an hour every day.  I am very much a fish, and love the water.  This gateway totally opened me up to a new world of being active and I loved it!  I have lost over 100 pounds, and am very proud of that goal.  After my hospitalization in October, I have noticed just how weak I am again.  Plus a few pounds have creeped on.  Add on the fact that my fiancé and I are headed towards our wedding day in November, I’m starting to feel a pinch.  Now I am not necessarily looking to lose weight, as I am satisfied with where I am scale-wise.  I am however looking to gain my strength back.  I never knew how incredibly weak I would feel post hospital stay.  The doctor figures I won’t be back to 100% until March.  I am not satisfied with that, so here I am, beginning this journey!  I have done the P90x workouts before, but am starting the program again.  This time, I am focusing on pushing myself and gaining my strength back.

 

We have such a physically demanding job, and just “getting by” isn’t good enough for me.  I am looking to pack carrots and lots of protein and whatnot, and charge ahead.  If there is anyone who is looking to roll with me, follow along.  My goal is to post a little something everyday.  I like the idea of holding myself accountable, and having a place to piss and moan when I am sore, tired, and the pager isn’t cooperating with my workouts.  So, piss and moan away with me!  Lets kick the fast food bs, start packing lunches (and save money!) and forge ahead.

 

Day 1-Chest and Back, Ab Ripper X

Today was my wake up call with how weak I really am.  The first time I went through this, I was able to make it through the workout with decent weights and even did every single 25 count ab workout.  Today, not so much.  Chest and Back went actually decent, but when I made it to the Ab Ripper X workout, holy mother.  I couldn’t even make it all the way through.  That’s when I got pissed.  I am 26, how can I seriously not make it through?  But, thinking back to what the doctor said, I have to remember to take it a day at a time.  I will be stronger at the end of this, and that’s all that matters.  So tomorrow is a new day (actually a 24 hour shift, half with the fiancé) so here’s to Plyo!  Go kick some ass peeps….

Leave a Reply

