It’s the little things….

This week has been a rather long one.  To start off, I am taking a recovery day today from my P90x workouts.  With as sore as I am feeling and the ibuprofen and heat not really helping, I figure it’s warranted.  Besides, I work tomorrow and don’t want to be completely worthless!  It’s been really tough, but it’s starting to stick.  I feel like my soreness is an indication of all of the right things I am doing.  I have also taken to adding more protein to my diet and limiting carbs.  Hopefully this will help as well, despite my vegetarian tendencies!  Has anyone tried the shakeology shakes, or a meal replacement shake with their workouts?  I am very curious as to how they taste and if you feel that they help.

 

A sad, sad week for our EMS people in Iowa.  A medical helicopter based at Mercy Medical Center – North Iowa crashed Wednesday night, killing the pilot, flight nurse, and flight paramedic.  I have had the great honor of having Russ teach me during my paramedic class.  I learned all I needed to know about PALS from him.  He loved to ask hard questions and make you sure of your answer, whether they were right or wrong.  Shelly was a nurse that I encountered many times during my EMS career.  Those two were an amazing team.  They will be missed greatly by everyone that they had encountered in their short lives.  It definitely makes you take a step back and look at your own life.  Hopefully you have found a job that makes you feel like it’s not work, are surrounded by wonderful friends and family, and can honestly say that you are proud of what you have done.

 

Be safe my fellow brothers and sisters in firefighting and EMS.

Leave a Reply

